Unable to start Asqatasun Webapp from Tomcat Manager

I’m running Ubuntu 16.04 LTS, Open JDK 7, Tomcat 7, and Apache2, but to be honest I’m fairly noob with all of this. I’m a frontend developer with knowledge of UI A11y, but not much experience with configuration of web servers and applications.

I’ve reached a roadblock in the last step of installation, Setup an Apache frontend with HTTPS. I’m working on a local installation for evaluation purposes. These are the install.sh values I used for installation: (asqatasun_webapp_dir isn’t mentioned in the PDF so it was a guess to set this value)

declare database_user="asqatasun"
declare database_passwd="asqaP4sswd"
declare database_db="asqatasun"
declare database_host="localhost"
declare asqatasun_url="http://localhost:8080/asqatasun"
declare asqatasun_webapp_dir="/var/lib/tomcat7/webapps/asqatasun"
declare tomcat_webapps="/var/lib/tomcat7/webapps"
declare tomcat_user="tomcat7"
declare asqa_admin_email="lucas.falor@gmail.com"
declare asqa_admin_passwd="*********"
declare firefox_esr_binary_path="/opt/firefox-31.4.0esr/firefox"
declare display_port=":99"

After Installation, I can see Asqatasun listed on the Tomcat Web App Manager page, but it’s not started, and won’t start.

I thought I would keep going to the Apache Frontend with HTTPS stage, but then I discovered a roadblock - I don’t currently have a DNS registered domain name for the purpose of this evaluation test.

I thought I would be able to test locally at localhost:8080/asqatasun, but since it’s not running in Tomcat, I get a 404 with this URL. Without a registered domain, I can’t continue to the Apache frontend steps.

Is it possible to evaluate Asqatasun without a registered domain?
Is it normal to not be able to start the Asqatasun web app after the installation steps, or does this indicate that I didn’t configure something correctly?

yes, it’s possible. In the documentation, “Set up an Apache frontend with HTTPS” is optional.